Erasmus+ programme: What is Erasmus+?

Erasmus+ is the new EU programme for Education, Training, Youth, and Sport  for 2014-2020.

The Erasmus+ Programme builds on the achievements of more than 25 years of European programmes in the fields of education, training and youth, covering both an intra-European as well as an international cooperation dimension. Erasmus+ is the result of the integration of the following European programmes implemented by the EU during the period 2007-2013:

  • the Lifelong Learning Programme (Erasmus, Leonardo da Vinci, Comenius, Jean Monnet and Grundtvig)
  • the Youth in Action programme
  • five international cooperation programmes (Erasmus Mundus, Tempus, Alfa, Edulink, the programme for cooperation with industrialised countries)
  • the new sport action.

Erasmus+ encourages student and staff mobility for study and work, and promotes trans-national co-operation projects among universities across Europe.

The actions of the Erasmus+ programme are divided into decentralised actions and centralised actions. The decentralised actions are managed in each programme country by National Agencies that are appointed by their national authorities. The centralised actions are managed at a European level by the Education, Audiovisual and Culture Executive Agency (EACEA) located in Brussels.

What are the actions that Erasmus+ covers in Ukraine?

The international higher education dimension of the Erasmus+ programme in Ukraine includes:

    – Credit mobility (international opening of Erasmus) managed by National Agencies in the Programme Countries; all procedures are based on the European Credit Transfer System (ECTS).
    – Degree mobility through joint master degrees (and on-going Erasmus Mundus joint master and doctoral programmes) managed by the EACEA.
    – Capacity Building action which includes a mobility component for the neighbouring countries and the Western Balkans.
    – Knowledge Alliances and Strategic Partnerships that are open to partner country’s participation.
    – Teams of Higher Education Reform Experts.
    – Commission’s policy dialogues with the partner countries/regions.
    – Studies.
    – Regional chapters of Erasmus+ Alumni associations in the partner countries.

What is the background for the NTU “KhPI” participation at Erasmus+?

The National Technical University “Kharkiv Polytechnic Institute” have participated in Tempus since 1995.  Currently TEMPUS is transformed into CAPACITY BUILDING IN HIGHER EDUCATION ACTION (KA2) under new EU Programme – Erasmus+.

The NTU “KhPI” has adopted the main principles of the ECTS since 2005. Currently ECTS is the method of recognition in the framework of the INTERNATIONAL CREDIT MOBILITY OF INDIVIDUALS (KA 1) under Erasmus+.